The Maui Independent Schools Organization (MISO) began in 2002. While the group did not have a name for quite some time, it consisted of the Maui independent school heads meeting quarterly to build Maui’s independent school community. In 2003 it offered its first shared professional development day.   Most of Maui’s independent schools agreed to close for one day in order to come together for a keynote presentation as well as workshops offered by every participating school.   This day was traditionally the Friday of the Maui Fair weekend. After collaborating on the conference for 10 years, MISO decided to hold the conference once every two years. MISO has also collaborated to offer events such as the film “Race to Nowhere” and other national educational speakers.   The MISO conference venue rotates between the member schools every other year.


MISO Participating Schools


Aka’ula School

Victoria Newberry, Principal

Carden Academy

Nina Sato, School Director

Doris Todd Christian Academy

Carolyn Moore, Head of School

Emmanuel Lutheran Schools

Derrik Graham, Principal

Haleakala Waldorf Maui

Lou Young, Head of School

Horizon Academy

Beau Laughlin, Director

Kaahumanu Hou Christian School

Joni Uemura, Principal

Kamehameha Schools Maui

Kaleo Pahukula, Interim Po’o Kula

Kamehameha Schools Preschools

Lisa Pahukoa, Educational Coordinator

Williet “Poni” Medeiros, Educational Coordinator

Maui Prep Academy

Jonathan Silver, Head of School

Montessori Hale O Na Keiki

Jessica Thompson, Head of School

Montessori Schools of Maui

Rene Anderson-Vorfeld, Head of School

Roots School

Melita Charan, Director

Sacred Hearts

Susan Hendricks, Principal

St. Anthony

Besty Gunderson, Head of School

St. Anthony Preschool

Carlen Santos, Preschool Director

St. Anthony Grade School

Winona Martinez, Principal of Grade School

St. Anthony Junior-Senior High School

Betsey Gunderson, Head of School

St. Joseph Early Learning Center

Helen Souza, Director

Seabury Hall

Sarah Bakhiet, Head of School